All workers in Oregon are entitled to receive an hourly Minimum Wage rate according to Oregon Labor Laws and the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). Oregon minimum wage differs depending on the location the employee performs their work.
Oregon employees need to be compensated for all "hours worked". However, in order to maintain compliance and process payroll in Oregon, employers need to understand what is considered "hours worked".
Here is everything you need to know about what time is paid in Oregon:
When an employee departs your business, via choice or termination, you need to know what the rules are for ensuring they receive any final compensation that is due. Here is everything Oregon businesses need to know about Oregon Final Pay Laws when processing payroll.
On August 8th, 2017, Oregon governor Kate Brown signed the Oregon Predictive Scheduling Law which went took effect in July of 2018. The legislation was updated in 2020, with an extended notice period of 14 days as opposed to seven days. Oregon’s Predictive Scheduling Law is meant to protect employees against last-minute scheduling changes that could negatively impact their income.
According to the Boston College of Retirement Research, half of the people in the U.S. won't have enough funds saved to keep their standard of living during retirement. Additionally, over a third of workers have less than $1,000 in retirement savings.
Processing payroll in Oregon has a lot of moving parts. Before paying an employee in the state, you must consider several areas of Oregon Payroll Law, including the minimum wage, hours worked, overtime, allowed deductions, payroll tax, and more.
Under the Equal Pay Act of 1963, the U.S. Department of Labor prohibits wage discrimination based on gender. Many states, including Oregon, have reinforced this law with new legislation to ensure that employees receive equal pay for equal work as a part of Oregon payroll requirements. Governor Kate Brown signed Oregon's Equal Pay Act of 2017 (OEPA) into law in June 2017.
As of January 2023, Oregon businesses must manage compliance with Oregon Paid Lave, a new paid leave law creating requirements regarding a state-paid leave fund. Oregon employers need to ensure they are prepared to comply with and understand the contribution rates as well as other responsibilities under the new legislation.
Oregon OSHA Division II covers general rules regarding health and safety. While its subdivisions pertain to specific safety hazards, they do not pertain to any singular industry. The following guide, while not a complete overview, outlines the most important and most commonly applicable provisions for Oregon employers.